Library: Human Resources: Women

Human Resources Research Databases

Click on a database name to search:

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window The world's most comprehensive business database with full text ebooks, peer-reviewed journals, case studies, company profiles, SWOT analyses, interviews, market research reports, industry reports, and country economic reports.
Business Databases (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Searches 8 business databases simultaneously: ABI/INFORM Collection, Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection, Asian & European Business Collection, Business Market Research Collection, Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database, Career and Technical Education Database, India Database, and Research Library.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window Features scholarly journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country reports, and industry profiles. Its international coverage provides a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
PsycArticles (APA) This link opens in a new window From the American Psychological Association (APA), this database is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed, scholarly, and scientific articles in psychology. Contains full text from nearly 80 journals and coverage spans from 1894 to present.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window An interdisciplinary database that contains over 1,000 full text, online journals in the fields of business, education, health, the humanities, law enforcement, criminology, and other social sciences. Several of these journals are the most authoritative and influential in their fields. Access from 1999-present.

eBooks on subjects in business and technology:

Skillsoft This link opens in a new window Note: This database has scheduled downtime every Sunday from 1-3 pm ET. Please plan ahead. The full STEM Bundle includes access to: Business, Engineering, & IT eBooks, IT & Desktop 3-5 minute videos, book summaries of popular books on leadership and business, and the Leadership Channel, which contains videos and live events.

Multidisciplinary eBook databases:

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary eBooks representing a broad range of subjects.
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window eBooks on a range of subjects such as business, information technology, education, engineering, health, history, humanities, life & physical sciences, and social and behavioral sciences.

Learn more about finding and downloading eBooks:

Click on a database name to search:

Films On Demand (Business & Economics) The Business & Economics collection of the Films On Demand database includes over 2,100 full-length streaming videos in the fields of business and economics.
Alexander Street Videos (Business Education) Videos on business and economics topics.

Skillsoft This link opens in a new window Note: This database has scheduled downtime every Sunday from 1-3 pm ET. Please plan ahead. The full STEM Bundle includes access to: Business, Engineering, & IT eBooks, IT & Desktop 3-5 minute videos, book summaries of popular books on leadership and business, and the Leadership Channel, which contains videos and live events.

Khan Academy (Finance & Capital Markets) Videos on finance and macroeconomics
Khan Academy (Interviews With Entrepreneurs) Personal lessons and insights from accomplished entrepreneurs.
MITSloan (YouTube) Includes feature and editorial videos, event recordings, academic content and more from MIT Sloan.
Stanford University's eCorner (Entrepreneurship Corner) Topics covering entrepreneurship and innovation.

ImageQuest (Britannica) This link opens in a new window Nearly 3 million rights-cleared images from more than 50 collections including Getty Images, the National Portrait Gallery of London, and the National Geographic Society.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Specialized reference eBooks for background information on all subjects, including audio, video, and image results.

Click on a database name to search:

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Specialized reference eBooks for background information on all subjects, including audio, video, and image results.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window The largest, most authoritative encyclopedia in the world, this database contains articles, maps, images, videos, and yearbooks from 1993 to present. Use it instead of Wikipedia for your research!
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window More than 50 reference eBooks in business, communications, history, law, literature, medicine, nation & world, science, and technology.

OneSearch

Find articles, eBooks, etc.

Using Google Scholar: Finding Peer Reviewed Resources (Transcript)

Featured eBooks

Women and trade: The role of trade in promoting gender equality

We: Men, Women, and the Decisive Formula for Winning at Work

Leading from the Front: No-Excuse Leadership Tactics for Women

Lean Out: The Truth About Women, Power, and the Workplace

Kick Some Glass:10 Ways Women Succeed at Work on Their Own Terms

Influence Effect: A New Path to Power for Women Leaders

Politics of Promotion: How High-Achieving Women Get Ahead and Stay Ahead

Fearless and Free: How Smart Women Pivot and Relaunch Their Careers

Bold Maneuver: The Ambitious Woman's Playbook for Achieving Greater Success

Boss Lady: How Three Women Entrepreneurs Built Successful Big Businesses in the Mid-Twentieth Century

Women in Leadership: Contextual Dynamics and Boundaries

More Women on Boards: An International Perspective

Selected Resources

Psychology of Women Quarterly Peer reviewed journal from the Society for Women in Psychology (1999 to present).
Journal of Black Studies "Journal of Black Studies (JBS), peer-reviewed and published bi-monthly, for the last third of a century has been the leading source for dynamic, innovative, and creative research on the Black experience. Poised to remain at the forefront of the recent explosive growth in quality scholarship in the field of Black studies, JBS offers important and intellectually provocative articles exploring key issues facing African Americans."
Journal of Human Resources A peer reviewed journal that examines labor, health, education, and retirement issues with econometric tools, and focuses on policy implications. (full text from 6/1/1966 to present)
Human Resource Management Journal A peer reviewed journal about business and human resource strategy design of organizations; work and jobs; recruitment and selection; performance appraisal; training and development; and management and trade union relations. (full text from 3/1/2004 to 1 year ago)
Human Resource Management Review A peer reviewed journal devoted to the publication of conceptual and theoretical articles pertaining to human resource management and allied fields. Focus on the central issues of human resource management. (full text from 3/1/1991 to 12/31/2001)

Division 35: Society for the Psychology of Women American Psychological Association
Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) The world’s largest human resource professional society.
International Association for Human Resource Information Management "Since 1980, the International Association for Human Resource Information Management (IHRIM) has been the leading membership association for HR information management professionals and offers you a unique community that blends education, collaboration and professional certification."

Welcome!

Brent Swearingen

How to use this guide

This guide is designed to help you with your research, introducing a range of Human Resources resources available to you. The Human Resources Research Databases box lists recommended databases in your subject area that you can search to find articles, eBooks, etc.

ThisIsEngineering. (2020, February 7). Engineers assesses risk management plans [Photograph]. Unsplash.

Academic & Business Writing

Improve Your Writing

Writing for Business Students Covers general writing skills, such as being concise and paragraph structure & transitions, and business writing techniques, such as active vs. passive voice and using the third person.
Writing Process Overview (Excelsior OWL) Takes you through the different steps of the writing process, including developing a topic, finding your voice, revising & editing.
How to Write a... Learn how to write a thesis statement, outline, and different types of papers, such as an annotated bibliography and literature review.

Related Guides

Accounting
by Brent Swearingen Last Updated Mar 10, 2025 41 views this year
Business
by Brent Swearingen Last Updated Mar 10, 2025 1283 views this year
Economics
by Melissa Chim Last Updated Mar 10, 2025 30 views this year
Marketing
by Brent Swearingen Last Updated Mar 10, 2025 108 views this year
Recording Effective Presentations
by The Library Last Updated Jan 29, 2025 76 views this year