Background Information (encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.)
Research Centers & Think Tanks
CQ ResearcherThis link opens in a new windowWhy search here? Provides in-depth reports on current and controversial issues, offering unbiased analysis, background, and pro/con perspectives to help students explore topics and support research with credible, balanced information.
Brookings Institution
"Functions as an independent analyst and critic, committed to publishing its findings for the information of the public." Known for its analysis of US Government and Foreign Relations.
Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
"A private, nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing cooperation between nations and promoting active international engagement by the United States."
Carter Center
Chaired by former President Jimmy Carter. The Center is "guided by a fundamental commitment to human rights and the alleviation of human suffering; it seeks to prevent and resolve conflicts, enhance freedom and democracy, and improve health."
Cato Institute
Nonpartisan public policy research foundation headquartered in Washington, D.C. Institute describes itself as "market liberal"
Center for American Progress
"An independent nonpartisan policy institute that is dedicated to improving the lives of all Americans through bold, progressive ideas, as well as strong leadership and concerted action."
Council on Foreign Relations
"An independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, and publisher...to help them better understand the world and the foreign policy choices facing the United States and other countries."
Pew Charitable Trusts
"We are driven by the power of knowledge to solve today's most challenging problems. Pew applies a rigorous, analytical approach to improve public policy, inform the public, and invigorate civic life."
Pew Research Center
Nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. Public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. "We do not take policy positions."
RAND
Nonprofit institution focusing on policy problems including national defense, education, health care, and criminal justice
Urban Institute
"Gathers data, conducts research, evaluates programs, offers technical assistance overseas, and educates Americans on social and economic issues."
Research Databases for Background Information
Click on a database name to search:
Credo ReferenceThis link opens in a new windowWhy search here? Offers full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, and reference books across subjects, helping students start research, understand key concepts, and find reliable background information for papers and projects.
Britannica AcademicThis link opens in a new windowWhy search here? Offers reliable, up-to-date encyclopedia articles, images, maps, and videos across subjects, helping students start research, understand key topics, and find trusted information for assignments and projects.
CQ ResearcherThis link opens in a new windowWhy search here? Provides in-depth reports on current and controversial issues, offering unbiased analysis, background, and pro/con perspectives to help students explore topics and support research with credible, balanced information.
Ebook Central (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowWhy search here? These ebooks cover a wide range of subjects including business, humanities, social sciences, physical sciences, and more.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)This link opens in a new windowtable
{mso-displayed-decimal-separator:"\.";
mso-displayed-thousand-separator:"\,";}
tr
{mso-height-source:auto;}
col
{mso-width-source:auto;}
td
{padding-top:1px;
padding-right:1px;
padding-left:1px;
mso-ignore:padding;
color:black;
font-size:11.0pt;
font-weight:400;
font-style:normal;
text-decoration:none;
font-family:"Aptos Narrow", sans-serif;
mso-font-charset:0;
text-align:general;
vertical-align:bottom;
border:none;
white-space:nowrap;
mso-rotate:0;}
.xl125
{font-size:12.0pt;
font-family:Aptos, sans-serif;
mso-font-charset:1;}
Why search here? This is a comprehensive collection of ebooks covering a wide range of subjects including business, humanities, social sciences, physical sciences, and more.
Gale eBooksThis link opens in a new windowWhy search here? A collection of encyclopedias and reference materials that covers multiple subject areas.
