Library: Background Information (encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.): Dictionaries & Thesauri

Dictionaries & Thesauri

American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language
American Heritage Roget's Thesaurus
The Chambers Dictionary Immerse yourself in the most interesting, authoritative and helpful English dictionary available -- the unrivalled guide for word lovers. Whether youre an avid wordgamer or just enjoy revelling in the quirks and curiosities of the English language, The Chambers Dictionary is your ultimate companion.

Click on a database name to search:

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Specialized reference eBooks for background information on all subjects, including audio, video, and image results.
- This link opens in a new window
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window The largest, most authoritative encyclopedia in the world, this database contains articles, maps, images, videos, and yearbooks from 1993 to present. Use it instead of Wikipedia for your research!
- This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Contains over 4,000 in-depth research reports from 1923 to present on the world’s most pressing issues (gay marriage, gun control, Middle East conflicts, etc.) with data, charts, and visuals.
- This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window eBooks on a range of subjects such as business, information technology, education, engineering, health, history, humanities, life & physical sciences, and social and behavioral sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary eBooks representing a broad range of subjects.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window More than 50 reference eBooks in business, communications, history, law, literature, medicine, nation & world, science, and technology.
- This link opens in a new window