Library: Background Information (encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.): Statistics & Government Sites

Statistics & Government Sites

Statistical Abstract of the United States This is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Download the data to view in PDF images or Excel spreadsheets. Depending on the data variable selected you will see different levels of geography and past records(historical).
FedStats Portal for the 70 federal agencies that offer statistics to the public. Choose the A-Z index for both topics and agencies or choose the site map to see other types of information.
U.S. Census Bureau A leading source of data about Americans and the U.S. economy.
World Factbook (CIA) Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
U.S. Government Accountability Office Investigative arm of Congress charged with examining matters relating to the receipt and payment of public funds.
Catalog of US Government Publications Index to government publications that have been distributed to government depository libraries since 1994. Links are provided if the publication is available online or will give you information about the publication so you can find in a depository library.

Medline Plus (NLM) "The world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Provides relevant health and wellness information, easy to understand, and free of advertising, in both English and Spanish."

Click on a database name to search:

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Specialized reference eBooks for background information on all subjects, including audio, video, and image results.
- This link opens in a new window
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window The largest, most authoritative encyclopedia in the world, this database contains articles, maps, images, videos, and yearbooks from 1993 to present. Use it instead of Wikipedia for your research!
- This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Contains over 4,000 in-depth research reports from 1923 to present on the world’s most pressing issues (gay marriage, gun control, Middle East conflicts, etc.) with data, charts, and visuals.
- This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window eBooks on a range of subjects such as business, information technology, education, engineering, health, history, humanities, life & physical sciences, and social and behavioral sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary eBooks representing a broad range of subjects.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window More than 50 reference eBooks in business, communications, history, law, literature, medicine, nation & world, science, and technology.
- This link opens in a new window