Library: PSY420: Human Motivation: Modules 4-8: Final Project

Assignment Tips

There are two components to your final project in this course: a literature review, which you will then also present in a multimedia presentation with voiceover. As a reminder, you will need to select a theory of motivation from the list of theories supplied in M2A1 in your course and apply it to a specific context or setting.

Below are several resources to help you with writing a literature review and creating an online presentation.

Literature Review

Starting Your Research
Online Writing Lab (Excelsior OWL) Self-paced lessons for becoming a better writer.
Help with Literature Reviews
Scroll down on the How to Write a... page to see links to help with writing literature reviews.

Multimedia presentation

For additional tips on searching for articles in OneSearch, check out these tutorials:

Note: If you are finding too many irrelevant results in OneSearch, try searching one of the psychology-specific research databases listed in the box below, such as PsycARTICLES.

See the interaction below for examples of common search tips.

In addition to finding sources in the Library, you will also need to cite those sources using proper APA format. For each source that you use, you will need a reference (full citation at the end of your paper) an an in-text citation in the body of your writing. Here are a few resources to help with citing sources in APA:

APA Tip Sheet
Guidelines for APA in-text citations and references.

Citation & Documentation (Excelsior OWL)

See the APA FAQs box on this guide for answers to additional APA frequently asked questions.

Example

Here is a common example of a reference and in-text citation for a journal article in APA format:

Reference:

Girguis, M. S., Strickland, M. J., Hu, X., Liu, Y., Bartell, S. M., & Vieira, V. M. (2016). Maternal exposure to traffic-related air pollution and birth defects in Massachusetts. Environmental Research, 146(3), 1-9. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.envres.2015.12.010

Note: Citations should always be double-spaced and have hanging indents.

In-text citation:

(Girguis et al., 2016, p. 6)

Practice

For practice citing a journal article in APA, click on the image below:

Psychology Research Databases

Click on a database name to search:

PsycArticles (APA) This link opens in a new window From the American Psychological Association (APA), this database is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed, scholarly, and scientific articles in psychology. Contains full text from nearly 80 journals and coverage spans from 1894 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window "Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics."
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window The world's largest academic, multi-disciplinary database with full text journals, newspapers, magazines, reports, eBooks and videos. Meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window An interdisciplinary database that contains over 1,000 full text, online journals in the fields of business, education, health, the humanities, law enforcement, criminology, and other social sciences. Several of these journals are the most authoritative and influential in their fields. Access from 1999-present.
- This link opens in a new window

PsyArXiv Search and access preprints in the psychological sciences

Multidisciplinary eBook databases:

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary eBooks representing a broad range of subjects.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window eBooks on a range of subjects such as business, information technology, education, engineering, health, history, humanities, life & physical sciences, and social and behavioral sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Learn more about finding and downloading eBooks:

Click on a database name to search:

Films On Demand (Psychology) Contains over 1,500 videos on many areas of psychology such as abnormal, applied, biological, developmental and social.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Alexander Street Videos (Psychology & Counseling) Includes therapy sessions, documentaries, interviews, keynote presentations, transcripts, client narratives and psychological experiments online. The content covers a vast range of client issues such as addiction, autism, depression, grief, obsessive compulsive disorder, post-traumatic stress disorder, and suicide. It also highlights the psychology behind human behavior with studies on conformity, power, obedience, responsibility, aggression, and conditioning.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

ImageQuest (Britannica) This link opens in a new window Nearly 3 million rights-cleared images from more than 50 collections including Getty Images, the National Portrait Gallery of London, and the National Geographic Society.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Specialized reference eBooks for background information on all subjects, including audio, video, and image results.
- This link opens in a new window

Click on a database name to search:

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Specialized reference eBooks for background information on all subjects, including audio, video, and image results.
- This link opens in a new window
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window The largest, most authoritative encyclopedia in the world, this database contains articles, maps, images, videos, and yearbooks from 1993 to present. Use it instead of Wikipedia for your research!
- This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window More than 50 reference eBooks in business, communications, history, law, literature, medicine, nation & world, science, and technology.
- This link opens in a new window

Welcome!

The Library