Library: TECH330: Economics Analysis for Technologists: TECH330: Economics Analysis for Technologists

Assignment Tips

Research a recent lottery win

Search for the word "lottery" or the phrase "lottery winner" using the Newspaper Source database (below) or a search engine of your choosing to find information about a recent winner.

Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window A full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Cite your sources in APA

APA Tip Sheet
Guidelines for APA in-text citations and references.

Required materials

Council for Economic Education. (2012). Debt and equity financing [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/6wBlWqNGyhU

Accion in the U.S. (2015). Debt vs. equity financing [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/aXNVMcUNzaQ

Required materials

Video Arts (Producer). (1982). <i>Cost, profit and break-even: Classic John Cleese business education videos</i> [Video].

Required materials

NewsHour (Producer). (2011). <i>Tracking inflation: How fast are prices rising?</i> [Video].

Research recent changes to corporate income tax laws

Search for the phrase "corporate income tax" and "Trump" using the Business Source Complete database (linked below).

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window The world's most comprehensive business database with full text ebooks, peer-reviewed journals, case studies, company profiles, SWOT analyses, interviews, market research reports, industry reports, and country economic reports.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Example of how to enter search terms into the Business Source Complete advanced search screen:

corporate income tax AND Trump

Background information on ARCS

Accelerated Cost Recovery System
Accelerated cost recovery system. (1995). In J. K. Shim, & J. G. Siegel (Eds.), Dictionary of economics. Wiley.
Long-run Effects of the Accelerated Cost Recovery System
Fullerton, D., & Henderson, Y. K. (1985). Long-run effects of the accelerated cost recovery system. The Review of Economics and Statistics, 67(3), 363-372. https://doi.org/10.2307/1925964
A Note on Expensing Versus Depreciating Under the Accelerated Cost Recovery System
McCarty, D. E., & McDaniel, W. R. (1983). A note on expensing versus depreciating under the accelerated cost recovery system: Comment. Financial Management, 12(2), 37–39. https://doi.org/10.2307/3665208
Why Taxes Matter: Reagan’s Accelerated Cost Recovery System and the US Trade Deficit
Sinn, H. W. (1985). Why taxes matter: Reagan’s accelerated cost recovery system and the US trade deficit. Economic Policy, 1(1), 239–250. https://doi.org/10.2307/1344617
An Analysis of ACRS During Inflationary Periods
Swenson, C. W. (1987). An analysis of ACRS during inflationary periods. Accounting Review, 62(1), 117–136.

Cite your sources in APA

APA Tip Sheet
Guidelines for APA in-text citations and references.

Business & Economics Research Databases

Click on a database name to search:

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window The world's most comprehensive business database with full text ebooks, peer-reviewed journals, case studies, company profiles, SWOT analyses, interviews, market research reports, industry reports, and country economic reports.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Databases (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Searches 8 business databases simultaneously: ABI/INFORM Collection, Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection, Asian & European Business Collection, Business Market Research Collection, Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database, Career and Technical Education Database, India Database, and Research Library.
- This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window Features scholarly journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country reports, and industry profiles. Its international coverage provides a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window Provides comprehensive full text coverage for nearly 100 regional U.S. and Canadian business publications.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window An interdisciplinary database that contains over 1,000 full text, online journals in the fields of business, education, health, the humanities, law enforcement, criminology, and other social sciences. Several of these journals are the most authoritative and influential in their fields. Access from 1999-present.
- This link opens in a new window
Social Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window "Provides extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology."
- This link opens in a new window

eBooks on subjects in business and technology:

Skillsoft This link opens in a new window Note: This database has scheduled downtime every Sunday from 1-3 pm ET. Please plan ahead. The full STEM Bundle includes access to: Business, Engineering, & IT eBooks, IT & Desktop 3-5 minute videos, book summaries of popular books on leadership and business, and the Leadership Channel, which contains videos and live events.
- This link opens in a new window

Multidisciplinary eBook databases:

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary eBooks representing a broad range of subjects.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window eBooks on a range of subjects such as business, information technology, education, engineering, health, history, humanities, life & physical sciences, and social and behavioral sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Learn more about finding and downloading eBooks:

Click on a database name to search:

Films On Demand (Business & Economics) The Business & Economics collection of the Films On Demand database includes over 2,100 full-length streaming videos in the fields of business and economics.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Alexander Street Videos (Business Education) Videos on business and economics topics.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Skillsoft This link opens in a new window Note: This database has scheduled downtime every Sunday from 1-3 pm ET. Please plan ahead. The full STEM Bundle includes access to: Business, Engineering, & IT eBooks, IT & Desktop 3-5 minute videos, book summaries of popular books on leadership and business, and the Leadership Channel, which contains videos and live events.
- This link opens in a new window

Khan Academy (Macroeconomics) Topics covered in a traditional college level introductory macroeconomics course
Khan Academy (Microeconomics) Topics covered in a traditional college level introductory microeconomics course
MIT Video (Business & Management) Includes feature and editorial videos, event recordings, academic content and more from MIT.
Stanford University's eCorner (Entrepreneurship Corner) Topics covering entrepreneurship and innovation.

ImageQuest (Britannica) This link opens in a new window Nearly 3 million rights-cleared images from more than 50 collections including Getty Images, the National Portrait Gallery of London, and the National Geographic Society.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Specialized reference eBooks for background information on all subjects, including audio, video, and image results.
- This link opens in a new window

Click on a database name to search:

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Specialized reference eBooks for background information on all subjects, including audio, video, and image results.
- This link opens in a new window
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window The largest, most authoritative encyclopedia in the world, this database contains articles, maps, images, videos, and yearbooks from 1993 to present. Use it instead of Wikipedia for your research!
- This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window More than 50 reference eBooks in business, communications, history, law, literature, medicine, nation & world, science, and technology.
- This link opens in a new window

OneSearch

Find articles, eBooks, etc.

Using Google Scholar: Finding Peer Reviewed Resources (Transcript)

How to use this guide

This guide is designed to help you with your research, introducing a range of economics and technology resources available to you. You will find tips for completing your discussion posts, APA help, and research databases recommended in your subject area that you can search to find articles, eBooks, etc.

Featured eBooks

Engineering economics This book discusses economics as it relates to engineering, including topic such as elasticity of demand, budgets, consumer price index, decision making, productivity' price elasticity' economic models, and pricing policies.
Cost analysis of electronic systems This book provides an introduction to the cost modeling for electronic systems that is suitable for students in electrical, mechanical and industrial engineering, and professionals involved with electronics technology development and management.
Sewage treatment plants: Economic evaluation of innovative technologies for energy efficiency This book brings together knowledge from engineering, economics, and utility management to provide a better understanding of the real economic value with methodologies and practices about innovative energy technologies and policies in sewage treatment plants.
Chemical engineering design: Principles, practice and economics of plant and process design This book provides the latest US codes and standards, including API, ASME and ISA design codes and ANSI standards. It discusses conceptual plant design, flowsheet development, revamp design, capital cost estimation, process costing, economics, equipment selection, reactor design, and solids handling processes.