Library: Primary Sources: Global Primary Sources on the Open Web

Library Home

Beware!

Sites to avoid because of the possibility of bias or misrepresentation include:

-Wikipedia
-The History Channel website
-Sites like Yahoo.com, About.com

Using a search engine, such as Google, copy and paste the following search string:

digital collection site:.edu slavery

site:.edu limits your search to educational-sponsored sites, which may be more reliable than those with a .com address.
the word in red, slavery, is the topic that you are researching
You can also try the same search but replace .edu with site:.org or site:.gov However, always evaluate your sources! .org sites can be from any organization.
In addition to digital collection, try replacing that phrase with primary source

The list of websites below includes selected global primary source collections, but there are many more available!

Many libraries, museums and organizations have posted digitized primary sources online.

Avalon Project
Primary source documents in the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy, and government, broken down by time period and thematic collections. Documents are not limited to the United States and include global sources from as early as 1795 B.C.
Digital Schomburg
Provides access to trusted information, interpretation, and scholarship on the global black experience [not just American].
Duke University Libraries' Digital Collections
Includes images, films and manuscripts with strengths in Southern history, American material culture, and Women's history.
EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History
Websites listed by country with European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced, or translated.
Hanover Historical Texts Collection
Digital versions of historical texts from ancient to modern times
Hathi Trust
Limit your search to format type (e.g., audio, map) through the advanced search, or search the Collections for materials on a specific topic.
Holocaust Memorial Museum Online Exhibitions
America’s national institution for the documentation, study, and interpretation of Holocaust history, and serves as this country’s memorial to the millions of people murdered during the Holocaust.

Library of Congress: Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
Maps, photographs,letters, diaries & newspapers; hear personal accounts of events; listen to sound recordings & watch historic films.

New York Public Library Digital Collections Enter your search terms and check the box to "Search only public domain materials" to find materials with no restrictions on use (no permission required).
New York Public Library's Digital Projects
Digital collections spanning many topic areas, such as Charles Dickens, the Holocaust, Black studies, etc.
Open Community Collections (JSTOR)
Open access primary source materials in a wide variety of subjects contributed by libraries, museums, and archives. Browse by collections or contributors.
University of Texas Libraries' Map Collection
Scanned online historical maps from around the world.
Perseus Digital Library
Classical material, including original-language texts and translations, maps, images, artwork and reference material to study the ancient world.

Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window Free resource that brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Includes hundreds of pamphlets and books written about slavery—defending it, attacking it or simply analyzing it. In addition, includes every English-language legal commentary on slavery published before 1920, which includes many essays and articles in obscure, hard-to-find journals in the United States and elsewhere.
- This link opens in a new window

Smithsonian Institution Online Collections
The Smithsonian Institution offers access to primary sources and other resources on a wide variety of topics, such as art, military and political history, and science and technology.
Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
Information on over 35,000 slaving voyages between the 16th & 19th centuries of over 10 million Africans. Read articles, export data, view images, and more.
World Digital Library
Authoritative, primary source materials from around the world: manuscripts, maps, rare books, music scores, prints and films. Browse by place, time, topic, material or contributor.

Primary and Secondary Sources (video) Clear and short video tutorial explained by Common Craft
Using Primary Sources on the Web Defines what a primary source is, explains how to find them on the Web, and lists strategies for evaluating them.