Historical Abstracts with Full TextThis link opens in a new windowWhy search here? This database covers global history from the fifteenth century to the present. It excludes content covering the United States and Canada. Topics include world history, military history, and much more.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowWhy search here? Best for finding older, peer reviewed, scholarly articles in history, humanities and sciences. If you need current articles, use a different database.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)This link opens in a new windowtable
{mso-displayed-decimal-separator:"\.";
mso-displayed-thousand-separator:"\,";}
tr
{mso-height-source:auto;}
col
{mso-width-source:auto;}
td
{padding-top:1px;
padding-right:1px;
padding-left:1px;
mso-ignore:padding;
color:black;
font-size:11.0pt;
font-weight:400;
font-style:normal;
text-decoration:none;
font-family:"Aptos Narrow", sans-serif;
mso-font-charset:0;
text-align:general;
vertical-align:bottom;
border:none;
white-space:nowrap;
mso-rotate:0;}
.xl125
{font-size:12.0pt;
font-family:Aptos, sans-serif;
mso-font-charset:1;}
Why search here? This directory contains free, full text, academic sources that cover a wide range of subjects and languages. These articles are peer reviewed and come from reputable journals.
SAGE Journals OnlineThis link opens in a new windowWhy search here? Offers over 1,000 online journals in business, education, health, law, criminology, and more. Many are top journals. Includes articles from 1999 to today.
ProQuest CentralThis link opens in a new windowWhy search here? A good place to start your research because it covers a broad range of topics. You'll find many source types here like articles, news, videos, and more.
Multidisciplinary eBook databases:
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)This link opens in a new windowtable
{mso-displayed-decimal-separator:"\.";
mso-displayed-thousand-separator:"\,";}
tr
{mso-height-source:auto;}
col
{mso-width-source:auto;}
td
{padding-top:1px;
padding-right:1px;
padding-left:1px;
mso-ignore:padding;
color:black;
font-size:11.0pt;
font-weight:400;
font-style:normal;
text-decoration:none;
font-family:"Aptos Narrow", sans-serif;
mso-font-charset:0;
text-align:general;
vertical-align:bottom;
border:none;
white-space:nowrap;
mso-rotate:0;}
.xl125
{font-size:12.0pt;
font-family:Aptos, sans-serif;
mso-font-charset:1;}
Why search here? This is a comprehensive collection of ebooks covering a wide range of subjects including business, humanities, social sciences, physical sciences, and more.
Ebook Central (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowWhy search here? These ebooks cover a wide range of subjects including business, humanities, social sciences, physical sciences, and more.
Alexander Street Videos (World History)
"Multimedia histories of the major themes in the discipline: early encounters, war and conflict, women's activism, disease and epidemic, revolutions, and migrations. Using newsreels, archival footage, and documentaries, students and teachers can find materials relevant to a wide range of assignments. World Newsreels and World History allow users to explore, for example, many aspects of World War II,including the Home Front, the battlegrounds, the military aspect, the Holocaust, and the media coverage from the main countries involved."
Films On Demand: Master Academic PackageThis link opens in a new windowWhy search here? These full length films cover a wide range of topics including the humanities, social sciences, business, health, medicine, and more.
ImageQuest (Britannica)This link opens in a new windowWhy search here? This is a collection of free to use images from a wide range of organizations.
Credo ReferenceThis link opens in a new windowWhy search here? Offers full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, and reference books across subjects, helping students start research, understand key concepts, and find reliable background information for papers and projects.
Click on a database name to search:
Credo ReferenceThis link opens in a new windowWhy search here? Offers full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, and reference books across subjects, helping students start research, understand key concepts, and find reliable background information for papers and projects.
Britannica AcademicThis link opens in a new windowWhy search here? Offers reliable, up-to-date encyclopedia articles, images, maps, and videos across subjects, helping students start research, understand key topics, and find trusted information for assignments and projects.
Gale eBooksThis link opens in a new windowWhy search here? A collection of encyclopedias and reference materials that covers multiple subject areas.
European History Quarterly
"A peer reviewed journal which has earned an international reputation as an essential resource on European history, publishing articles by eminent historians on a range of subjects from the later Middle Ages to post-1945."
Journal of Modern History
"The Journal of Modern History is recognized as the leading American journal for the study of European intellectual, political, and cultural history."
Journal of World History
Official journal of the World History Association. Peer reviewed coverage of comparative and cross-cultural themes which describe forces that work their influences across cultures and civilizations.
Past & Present
"Articles, reviews and review articles on all aspects of historical studies." (peer reviewed)
History Extra
The official website for BBC History Magazine and BBC History Revealed. Includes an “on this day” feature, and is great for historical background information.
World Digital Library
Authoritative, primary source materials from around the world: manuscripts, maps, rare books, music scores, prints and films. Browse by place, time, topic, material or contributor.
Ancient Greece
Topic pages contain background information in many formats. It also pulls in resources from other Excelsior Library databases, making it a one-stop place to brush up on your topic!
Byzantine Empire
Topic pages contain background information in many formats. It also pulls in resources from other Excelsior Library databases, making it a one-stop place to brush up on your topic!
European Union
Topic pages contain background information in many formats. It also pulls in resources from other Excelsior Library databases, making it a one-stop place to brush up on your topic!
Holocaust
Topic pages contain background information in many formats. It also pulls in resources from other Excelsior Library databases, making it a one-stop place to brush up on your topic!
Islam
Topic pages contain background information in many formats. It also pulls in resources from other Excelsior Library databases, making it a one-stop place to brush up on your topic!
Middle Ages
Topic pages contain background information in many formats. It also pulls in resources from other Excelsior Library databases, making it a one-stop place to brush up on your topic!
Middle East
Topic pages contain background information in many formats. It also pulls in resources from other Excelsior Library databases, making it a one-stop place to brush up on your topic!
North Atlantic Treaty Organization
Topic pages contain background information in many formats. It also pulls in resources from other Excelsior Library databases, making it a one-stop place to brush up on your topic!
Reformation
Topic pages contain background information in many formats. It also pulls in resources from other Excelsior Library databases, making it a one-stop place to brush up on your topic!
Renaissance
Topic pages contain background information in many formats. It also pulls in resources from other Excelsior Library databases, making it a one-stop place to brush up on your topic!
Roman Empire
Topic pages contain background information in many formats. It also pulls in resources from other Excelsior Library databases, making it a one-stop place to brush up on your topic!
