Library: HIS325: African American History: Milestone 2: Annotated Bibliography

Instructions

Review your feedback on Milestone 1
Complete a virtual tour of the library by watching the library overview video.
Locate, read, and evaluate at least 5 sources
- Watch the OneSearch: Advanced Search video below
- Search both the history-specific databases listed as well as OneSearch to find sources.
- At least 1 source needs to be a primary source. See the Finding Primary Sources tab for help.
Write annotations for each source.
Cite your sources in APA. See the Citing Sources in APA Format page of this guide for help!

Note: For detailed instructions on this assignment, refer to your course.

Selected History Research Databases

You will need to find at least 5 sources on your topic. We have several history-specific research databases listed below that you can use to search for sources. In addition, you will also want to try searching OneSearch, which search most of the databases at the same time.

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window Full text database that covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
- This link opens in a new window
Civil Rights and Social Justice This link opens in a new window Containing publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, legislative histories on landmark legislation, briefs from relevant U.S. Supreme Court cases, and more, this database covers civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans.
- This link opens in a new window
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window Free resource that brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Includes hundreds of pamphlets and books written about slavery—defending it, attacking it or simply analyzing it. In addition, includes every English-language legal commentary on slavery published before 1920, which includes many essays and articles in obscure, hard-to-find journals in the United States and elsewhere.
- This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Contains over 4,000 in-depth research reports from 1923 to present on the world’s most pressing issues (gay marriage, gun control, Middle East conflicts, etc.) with data, charts, and visuals.
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window An interdisciplinary database that contains over 1,000 full text, online journals in the fields of business, education, health, the humanities, law enforcement, criminology, and other social sciences. Several of these journals are the most authoritative and influential in their fields. Access from 1999-present.
- This link opens in a new window
Alexander Street: Academic Video Online‎ This link opens in a new window A large multidisciplinary collection of streaming videos. Includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage, award-winning films, including Academy® and Emmy® winners, newly released films, and archival material previously unavailable.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window