Library: HIS325: African American History: Finding Videos & Images

Video Resources

Films On Demand This link opens in a new window Full-length streaming videos in the humanities, social sciences, business, health, medicine, sciences, and mathematics fields.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Alexander Street: Academic Video Online‎ This link opens in a new window A large multidisciplinary collection of streaming videos. Includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage, award-winning films, including Academy® and Emmy® winners, newly released films, and archival material previously unavailable.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Skillsoft This link opens in a new window Note: This database has scheduled downtime every Sunday from 1-3 pm ET. Please plan ahead. The full STEM Bundle includes access to: Business, Engineering, & IT eBooks, IT & Desktop 3-5 minute videos, book summaries of popular books on leadership and business, and the Leadership Channel, which contains videos and live events.
- This link opens in a new window
Common Craft Video Library This link opens in a new window Short, animated videos that explain concepts in technology, social media, internet safety, study skills and more.
- This link opens in a new window

Credo Reference (Videos) Includes over 1,000 short reference videos. Note: Click on the name of a book to browse those videos or use the basic search box at the top and then click "media" on the left to narrow down your results to videos only.

Annenberg Media - Video on Demand Click on the subject you are interested in, then select free videos that are marked VoD.
Google Video
Khan Academy Over 3,000 educational videos covering everything from arithmetic to physics, finance, and history and more than 300 practice exercises.
MIT OpenCourseWare Audio/Video Lectures Includes videos on selected course lectures at MIT.
TED-Ed: Lessons Worth Sharing Carefully crated educational videos, representing collaborations between talented educators and animators.
Vimeo Check out the "Creative Commons" section on Vimeo to use rights-cleared works.
YouTube

ImageQuest (Britannica) This link opens in a new window Nearly 3 million rights-cleared images from more than 50 collections including Getty Images, the National Portrait Gallery of London, and the National Geographic Society.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Credo Reference (Images) Credo Reference contains images that are reputable, citable, embeddable, and free to use. To search for images, simply run a search and then click the “image” filter on the results page. From there, you can browse, export, cite, or embed any image.
- This link opens in a new window

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window The largest, most authoritative encyclopedia in the world, this database contains articles, maps, images, videos, and yearbooks from 1993 to present. Use it instead of Wikipedia for your research!
- This link opens in a new window

Open Artstor More than 200,000 Creative Commons-licensed images in the arts, sciences, and literature aggregated from museums, libraries, and archives around the world.
Flickr: The Commons Find hidden treasures from the world's public photography archives.
The Gender Spectrum Collection Gender-inclusive stock photo library. Images licensed under a CC BY-NC-ND 4.0 license.
Iwaria Free African high quality photos for your projects.
Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online Images from the Library of Congress, now in the public domain.
Nappy Beautiful, high-res photos of black and brown people. For free.
New York Public Library Digital Collections Enter your search terms and check the box to "Search only public domain materials" to find materials with no restrictions on use (no permission required).
Open Clip Art Library Public domain graphics contributed by users.
Openverse Openly licensed images, audio, and more from Wordpress. All Openverse content is under a Creative Commons license or is in the public domain.
Pexels Free stock photos & videos
Pixabay Over 1.6 million royalty free stock photos and videos.
Rawpixel Free images. In addition, all images with recognizable people have signed model releases so you can use the images for both personal and commercial projects.
Unsplash A collection of free-to-use images.
Wikimedia Commons A database of freely usable media files.