Library: PSY380: Biopsychology: PSY380

Selected Resources

Diagram of Brain Functional Control
Video: Neurotransmitters

Brain functional control diagram

MediVisuals. (n.d.). Diagram of brain functional control [Diagram].

Neurotransmitters (2015)

Electrical impulses cause neurotransmitters to be released from the axon membrane into the synapse. The signaling molecules bind with receptors proteins on the cell membrane. Some nerve diseases are caused by neurotransmitters breaking down.

PSY380 Research Databases

The following databases are recommended for research in this course. Click on a database name to search:

PsycArticles (APA) This link opens in a new window From the American Psychological Association (APA), this database is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed, scholarly, and scientific articles in psychology. Contains full text from nearly 80 journals and coverage spans from 1894 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biological Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window "Provides access to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science."
- This link opens in a new window
Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window "Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics."
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window The world's largest academic, multi-disciplinary database with full text journals, newspapers, magazines, reports, eBooks and videos. Meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window An interdisciplinary database that contains over 1,000 full text, online journals in the fields of business, education, health, the humanities, law enforcement, criminology, and other social sciences. Several of these journals are the most authoritative and influential in their fields. Access from 1999-present.
- This link opens in a new window

Multidisciplinary eBook databases:

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary eBooks representing a broad range of subjects.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window eBooks on a range of subjects such as business, information technology, education, engineering, health, history, humanities, life & physical sciences, and social and behavioral sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Learn more about finding and downloading eBooks:

Click on a database name to search:

Films On Demand: Master Academic Package This link opens in a new window Full-length streaming videos in the humanities, social sciences, business, health, medicine, sciences, and mathematics fields.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Alexander Street: Academic Video Online‎ This link opens in a new window A large multidisciplinary collection of streaming videos. Includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage, award-winning films, including Academy® and Emmy® winners, newly released films, and archival material previously unavailable.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ImageQuest (Britannica) This link opens in a new window Nearly 3 million rights-cleared images from more than 50 collections including Getty Images, the National Portrait Gallery of London, and the National Geographic Society.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Specialized reference eBooks for background information on all subjects, including audio, video, and image results.
- This link opens in a new window

Click on a database name to search:

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Specialized reference eBooks for background information on all subjects, including audio, video, and image results.
- This link opens in a new window
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window The largest, most authoritative encyclopedia in the world, this database contains articles, maps, images, videos, and yearbooks from 1993 to present. Use it instead of Wikipedia for your research!
- This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window More than 50 reference eBooks in business, communications, history, law, literature, medicine, nation & world, science, and technology.
- This link opens in a new window

Search Tools

OneSearch

Find articles, eBooks, etc.

Note: This tool searches cover titles only, it does not search for article titles or within the text.

Using Google Scholar: Finding Peer Reviewed Resources (Transcript)

Helpful Tips & Tutorials

APA Formatting Guide (Excelsior OWL)
In-text Citations, i.e. Author–Date Citation System (APA Style website) APA in-text citation usage beyond the basics, including the use of "et al."

APA Tip Sheet Guidelines for APA in-text citations and references.
Peer Reviewed Articles: What Are They? Tips for determining what a peer reviewed article is and how to find them in the library databases.

Library

PSY380: Biopsychology

How to use this guide

Background Information

Selected Resources

Related Guides

Selected Resources

PSY380 Research Databases

Search Tools

Note: This tool searches cover titles only, it does not search for article titles or within the text.

Helpful Tips & Tutorials