Library: Sociology: Counseling/Health

Sociology of Health Research Databases

Click on a database name to search:

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window Comprehensive coverage of sociology, its scope includes subjects such as abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, religion, rural & urban sociology, social psychology, and social work, to name a few. Contains full text for more than 890 journals, 850 books, and over 16,800 conference papers.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sociology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies. It includes hundreds of full-text scholarly journals, as well as dissertations and other sources.
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window An interdisciplinary database that contains over 1,000 full text, online journals in the fields of business, education, health, the humanities, law enforcement, criminology, and other social sciences. Several of these journals are the most authoritative and influential in their fields. Access from 1999-present.
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window The world's largest academic, multi-disciplinary database with full text journals, newspapers, magazines, reports, eBooks and videos. Meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Search ALL ProQuest databases at once. Covering more than 160 subject areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database and contains a diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. Encompasses business, science & technology, health, social sciences, arts & humanities, and news.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Comprehensive coverage of all areas of nursing and allied health with access to more than 770 journals and 275 ebooks.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect Health & Life Sciences and Physical Sciences Collections This link opens in a new window Access to over 1,550 full text journals in health & life sciences, chemistry, computer science, physics, mathematics, and earth & planetary sciences. On the results page, green icons mean the full text is available (white means abstract only). Please note: Articles are available from 1995 to present only.
- This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Contains over 4,000 in-depth research reports from 1923 to present on the world’s most pressing issues (gay marriage, gun control, Middle East conflicts, etc.) with data, charts, and visuals.
- This link opens in a new window

Multidisciplinary eBook databases:

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary eBooks representing a broad range of subjects.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window eBooks on a range of subjects such as business, information technology, education, engineering, health, history, humanities, life & physical sciences, and social and behavioral sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Learn more about finding and downloading eBooks:

Click on a database name to search:

Films On Demand This link opens in a new window Full-length streaming videos in the humanities, social sciences, business, health, medicine, sciences, and mathematics fields.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Alexander Street: Academic Video Online‎ This link opens in a new window A large multidisciplinary collection of streaming videos. Includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage, award-winning films, including Academy® and Emmy® winners, newly released films, and archival material previously unavailable.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ImageQuest (Britannica) This link opens in a new window Nearly 3 million rights-cleared images from more than 50 collections including Getty Images, the National Portrait Gallery of London, and the National Geographic Society.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Specialized reference eBooks for background information on all subjects, including audio, video, and image results.
- This link opens in a new window

Click on a database name to search:

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Specialized reference eBooks for background information on all subjects, including audio, video, and image results.
- This link opens in a new window
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window The largest, most authoritative encyclopedia in the world, this database contains articles, maps, images, videos, and yearbooks from 1993 to present. Use it instead of Wikipedia for your research!
- This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window More than 50 reference eBooks in business, communications, history, law, literature, medicine, nation & world, science, and technology.
- This link opens in a new window