Library: Psychology: General

Psychology Research Databases

Click on a database name to search:

PsycArticles (APA) This link opens in a new window From the American Psychological Association (APA), this database is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed, scholarly, and scientific articles in psychology. Contains full text from nearly 80 journals and coverage spans from 1894 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window "Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics."
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window The world's largest academic, multi-disciplinary database with full text journals, newspapers, magazines, reports, eBooks and videos. Meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window An interdisciplinary database that contains over 1,000 full text, online journals in the fields of business, education, health, the humanities, law enforcement, criminology, and other social sciences. Several of these journals are the most authoritative and influential in their fields. Access from 1999-present.
- This link opens in a new window

PsyArXiv Search and access preprints in the psychological sciences

Multidisciplinary eBook databases:

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary eBooks representing a broad range of subjects.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window eBooks on a range of subjects such as business, information technology, education, engineering, health, history, humanities, life & physical sciences, and social and behavioral sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Learn more about finding and downloading eBooks:

Click on a database name to search:

Films On Demand (Psychology) Contains over 1,500 videos on many areas of psychology such as abnormal, applied, biological, developmental and social.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Alexander Street Videos (Psychology & Counseling) Includes therapy sessions, documentaries, interviews, keynote presentations, transcripts, client narratives and psychological experiments online. The content covers a vast range of client issues such as addiction, autism, depression, grief, obsessive compulsive disorder, post-traumatic stress disorder, and suicide. It also highlights the psychology behind human behavior with studies on conformity, power, obedience, responsibility, aggression, and conditioning.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

ImageQuest (Britannica) This link opens in a new window Nearly 3 million rights-cleared images from more than 50 collections including Getty Images, the National Portrait Gallery of London, and the National Geographic Society.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Specialized reference eBooks for background information on all subjects, including audio, video, and image results.
- This link opens in a new window

Click on a database name to search:

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Specialized reference eBooks for background information on all subjects, including audio, video, and image results.
- This link opens in a new window
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window The largest, most authoritative encyclopedia in the world, this database contains articles, maps, images, videos, and yearbooks from 1993 to present. Use it instead of Wikipedia for your research!
- This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window More than 50 reference eBooks in business, communications, history, law, literature, medicine, nation & world, science, and technology.
- This link opens in a new window

Search Tools

OneSearch

Find articles, eBooks, etc.

Note: This tool searches cover titles only, it does not search for article titles or within the text.

Using Google Scholar: Finding Peer Reviewed Resources (Transcript)

Selected Resources

In the 1940s, Kenneth and Mamie Clark conducted the doll test, finding that black children preferred white dolls to black. Wilson tried the study and found similar results today.

Past, Present, and Promise Past, Present, and Promise is the first program in the Discovering Psychology series. It provides an introduction to and overview of psychology, from its origins in the nineteenth century to current study of the brain's biochemistry. You'll explore the development of psychology in general and some of the paths scientists take to determine relationships among the mind, the brain, and behavior.
Understanding Research Understanding Research is the second program in the Discovering Psychology series. This program examines how we know what we know. You'll explore the scientific method, the distinction between fact and theory, and the different ways in which data are collected and applied, both in labs and in real-world settings.
Center for the History of Psychology Search the archives of the History of American Psychology, the world’s largest repository of manuscripts, monographs, media, and artifacts relevant to the history of psychology and related human sciences.

American Psychological Association (APA) “A scientific and professional organization that represents psychology in the United States. With more than 154,000 members, APA is the largest association of psychologists worldwide.” Website includes links to psychology topics, publications, news, careers and more. Offers student affiliate memberships.
Association for Psychological Science Founded in 1988, APS's mission is “promote, protect, and advance the interests of scientifically oriented psychology in research, application, teaching, and the improvement of human welfare."
Society for General Psychology: Division 1 From the American Psychological Association
Society for the History of Psychology: Division 26 From the American Psychological Association

Selected Publications

American Psychologist The official peer-reviewed scholarly journal of the American Psychological Association.
British Journal of Psychology Peer reviewed journal with 12 month full text delay due to publisher embargo
History of Psychology
Psychological Bulletin
Psychological Methods
Psychological Review
Psychological Science
Review of General Psychology
General Psychologist (Newsletter) A newsletter of Division One of the American Psychological Association (APA)

Library

Psychology

How to use this guide

Notable Psychologists

Psychology Research Databases

Search Tools

Note: This tool searches cover titles only, it does not search for article titles or within the text.

Selected Resources

Selected Publications