Skip to Main Content
Excelsior University homepage

Library
live chat

Course Development Toolkit

excelsior university library course development toolkit permalinks

About Permalinks

Permalinks are stable links to library database content. Permalinks do two important things: First, a permalink provides a permanent or persistent URL to specific articles, ebooks, and other types of content that doesn't expire, change, or break. Second, permalinks contain authentication information so that Excelsior students can login and access subscription content. Consequently, permalinks are the appropriate links to use in Canvas and course content.  

Depending on the database, permalinks sometimes have different names and locations. This page will show you how to locate permalinks in all of the Excelsior University Library's subscription databases. If you have any questions about permalinks, please contact the Library.            

  • From the results list, click on the video title to view the full record.   

  • To create a link to the entire video, click on the "share" icon below the video information.

  • Copy the permalink that appears in the box. 

To create a link to the entire video, click on the "share" icon below the video information

  • From the results list, click on the article title to view the full record.   

  • To get the permalink, copy the URL from the browser bar at the top of the page

To get the permalink copy the URL from the browser bar at the top of the page.

  • From the results list, click on the article title to view the full record.   

  • To get the permalink, copy the URL from the browser bar at the top of the page

  • From the results list, click on the article title to view the full record.

  • Click on "get link" located below the article title and publication information.

  • Copy the permalink that appears in the box.

  • From the results list, click on the article title to view the full record.

  • From there, you can either (a) select "copy link" at the top of the page or 
    (b) click on the "share" icon located below the article title and then select "copy link".

  • From the results list, click on the eBook title to view the full record. 

  • To create a link to the entire eBook, click on “Share Link to Book” on the left side of the record. 

  • Copy the Permalink URL, which will appear in a box at the top of the record.

ProQuest Ebooks Central entire book

  • From the eBook record, select a chapter or page to view. 

  • To create a link for a chapter, click on the “Share Link” icon in the eBook navigation toolbar at the top of the page. 

  • Copy the Permalink URL, which will appear in a box on the page.

ProQuest Ebooks Central chapter or page

You can obtain a permalink to an entire eBook in the eBook Collection (EBSCOHost).

  • Click on the title of an eBook in your eBook Collection (EBSCOHost) search results.
  • The eBook item record opens. Click the Share button (arrow icon).
  • The Share menu appears. Click Create link.
  • Click Copy to clipboard.

You can obtain a permalink to a specific eBook chapter in the eBook Collection (EBSCOHost).

  • Click on the title of an eBook in your eBook Collection (EBSCOHost) search results.
  • The eBook item record opens. Click on any chapter in the Table of Contents.
  • The eBook viewer opens to that chapter. From the eBook viewer, click the Share button (arrow icon).
  • The Share menu appears. Click the Create link.
  • Click Copy to clipboard.

You can obtain a permalink to an item in any EBSCOHost database by following the steps below.

  • Click on the title of an item in your EBSCOHost search results.
  • The item record opens. Click the Share button (arrow icon).
  • The Share menu appears. Click Create link.
  • Click Copy to clipboard.

These instructions are for all EBSCOHost databases, including:

  • Academic Search Ultimate
  • Business Source Complete
  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text
  • ERIC: Education Research Information Center
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
  • MEDLINE
  • Military/Government Collection
  • PsycArticles (APA)
  • and others (see a full list of EBSCOhost databases)

See also the following sections of this document:

  • eBooks Collection (EBSCOHost): Entire eBook
  • eBooks Collection (EBSCOHost): Chapter or Page
  • OneSearch

screenshot of ebscohost item record showing share menu

  • From the results list, click on the video title to view the full record.

  • To create a link to the entire video, click on the "share" icon below the video.

  • Select "embed/link" in the box that appears.

  • Copy the record URL.

  • From the results list, click on the title to view the full record. 

  • The permalink is located under the column named Details 


Once you are on the item that you want to link to, click on "Get Link" or "Obtener vínculo" on the top right.
Copy the URL provided. It will serve as the persistent link.
Note: vlib.excelsior.edu is embedded in the URL behind the scenes by Gale so it won’t be in the URL provided.

  • From the results list, click on the title to view the full record. 

  • The permalink is located underneath the article’s title, author, and publication information. 

  • From the results list, click on the eBook title to view the full record. 

  • To create a link for a chapter, click on “Permalink” on the top navigation bar. 

  • Copy the Permalink URL, which will appear in a box at the center of your screen. 

1. Click on the link icon to the right of the document title. 
2. Copy the link provided within the "Link to This Page" pop-up window.

OneSearch compiles results from most of the databases listed in this document. 

  • For some items, full text is available within OneSearch. 
  • For other items, OneSearch provides a link to another database where full text can be found. For these items, you have additional options for obtaining permalinks. See below.
Option 1: Permalink from OneSearch

You can obtain a permalink to the detail record for any item found in OneSearch. 

  1. From the item record in OneSearch, click the Share button (arrow icon).
  2. The Share menu appears. Click Create link.
  3. Copy the link.

screenshot of onesearch item record showing share menu

Option 2: Permalink to the Full Text in Another Database

If the full text is in another database or website, you can optionally get a permalink from that database. This will be a direct link to the full text, instead of a link to the OneSearch record.

  1. From the item record in OneSearch, click the Access Options or Access Now button.
  2. Click the link that appears (exact link text varies). The item will open in another database.
  3. Follow the instructions listed elsewhere in this guide for obtaining permalinks from that database. 

screenshot of onesearch record showing access options

  • From the results list, click the article title, the “OVID Full Text” link, or the “Article as PDF” link to access the full text.
  • Click the “Email Jumpstart” link. (If you clicked on the article title or the “OVID Full Text” link, it will appear on the right sidebar. If you clicked the “Article as PDF” link, it will appear above the PDF viewer.)
  • Copy the URL, which will appear in a pop-up box. 

screenshot showing how to find permalinks in OVID journals

screenshot of how to find permalinks in OVID journal PDF view

 

  • From the results list, click either the eBook title (best for linking to a specific chapter), or the New Book Reader button (best for linking to the whole eBook or a specific chapter).
  • If you clicked the eBook title, click on a specific chapter or page.
  • Then click the “E-mail Jumpstart” link in the top toolbar. 
  • Copy the URL, which will appear in a pop-up box. 

screenshot of how to find a permalink in an OVID ebook

  • If you clicked the New Book Reader button, click the Share icon in the left sidebar.
  • Then copy the URL, which will appear in a pop-up box. 
  • If you navigated to a specific chapter in the book, you will see a link to the chapter AND a link to the book.

Screenshot of how to find permalinks in OVID New Book Reader

  • From the results list, click on the eBook title to view the full record. 

  • To create a link for a chapter, click on “Permalink” on the top navigation bar. 

  • Copy the Permalink URL, which will appear in a box at the top of the record. 

  • From the results list, click on the eBook title to view the full record. 

  • To create a link for a chapter, click on “Permalink” on the top navigation bar. 

  • Copy the Permalink URL, which will appear in a box at the top of the record. 

  • From the results list, click the article title. Note: For the purposes of obtaining a Permalink, do not open the View PDF link in Science Direct.
  • From the article record, copy the URL from the browser (i.e., the address bar at the top of the screen.)

screenshot of how to find permalink in science direct

Note: We have access to a handful of these eBooks. They can be found in OneSearch.