Library: TECH180: Personal Protection Equipment (PPE) for Electrical Work: TECH180: Personal Protection Equipment for Electrical Work

Assignment Tips

Required materials

Safety and Health Regulations for Construction
Occupational Safety and Health Administration. (n.d.). Safety and health regulations for construction. https://www.osha.gov/laws-regs/regulations/standardnumber
eTools, eMatrix, Expert Advisors and v-Tools
Occupational Safety and Health Administration. (n.d.). eTools, eMatrix, expert advisors and v-Tools. https://www.osha.gov/dts/osta/oshasoft
Grantee Materials - By Topic
Occupational Safety and Health Administration. (n.d.). Grantee materials - By topic. https://www.osha.gov/harwoodgrants/grantmaterials/bytopic

Background information

How to Prepare for and Manage an OSHA Inspection
Johnson, D. (2018). How to prepare for and manage an OSHA inspection. EHS Today, 11(1), 23.

Required materials

Basics of Motor Control Centers (MCCs)
Electrical Engineering Portal. (n.d.). The basics of motor control centers (MCCs). https://electrical-engineering-portal.com/download-center/books-and-guides

Background information

Electric Power: Personal Protective Equipment (PPE)
Occupational Safety and Health Administration. (n.d.). Personal protective equipment (PPE). https://www.osha.gov/SLTC/etools/electric_power
Energized Work: What are the PPE Requirements?
Lamendola, M. (2017). Energized work: What are the PPE requirements? EC&M Electrical Construction & Maintenance, 116(6), C4–C8.
Protecting Against Thermal Effect: Part 1: Types of Electric Arc
Golovkov, M., Schau, H., & Burdge, G. (2017). Protecting against thermal effect: Part 1: Types of electric arc. Professional Safety, 62(7), 49–54.

Required materials

Hazard Identification Training Tool
Occupational Safety and Health Administration. (n.d.). Hazard identification training tool. https://www.osha.gov/hazfinder/index.html
Note: Install the tool, select Manufacturing scenario, then Play as Worker.

Background information

Electrical Hazards and the Human Body
Dawes, A. (2018). Electrical hazards and the human body. EC&M Electrical Construction & Maintenance, 117(2), C30–C32.

Background information

Burned in a Flash: Save Lives & Reduce Injury with FR/AR Workwear
Padron, M. (2018). Burned in a flash: Save lives & reduce injury with FR/AR workwear. Industrial Safety & Hygiene News, 52(7), 16-17.
Four Key Changes Proposed for the 2018 Edition of NFPA 70E
West, R. (2017). Four key changes proposed for the 2018 edition of NFPA 70E. EC&M Electrical Construction & Maintenance, 116(5), 10–14.

Background information

Incorporating Daily Wear PPE Can Elevate: Your Arc Flash Safety Program
Francis, S. (2018). Incorporating daily wear PPE can elevate: Your arc flash safety program. EHS Today, 11(5), 12.
Arc Flash: Avoid the Shock
Northcott, T. (2018). Arc flash: Avoid the shock. Plant Engineering, 72(2), 38–39.
Why Every Facility Needs Arc Flash Labels
Northcott, T. (2018). Why every facility needs arc flash labels: Inside the arc flash analysis process & the steps involved before the stickers go on. EC&M Electrical Construction & Maintenance, 117(1), 55–56.
3 Key Safeguards Against Arc Flash Injury
Paese, R., & Ceci, F. (2018). 3 key safeguards against arc flash injury: How electrical inspections, preventive maintenance & training come together... EC&M Electrical Construction & Maintenance, 117(7), 14-16.
Dressing for Protection
Valentic, S. (2017). Dressing for protection: When it comes to arc flash protection, proper personal protective equipment is essential to reducing the severity of injuries. EHS Today, 10(10), 13-14.
Beyond Injury Prevention
Zind, T. (2017). Beyond injury prevention. EC&M Electrical Construction & Maintenance, 116(5), 20–24.

Background information

Lockout/Tagout
Benda, S., & Kressin, R. (2008). Lockout/Tagout. Power Engineering, 112(8), 68–72.
LOTO Made Simple
Burns, W. T., & Foust, G. (2015). LOTO made simple. Plant Engineering, 69(4), 39-44.
LOTO Atandard Exceptions Can Save Time - If Followed Correctly
Smart, S. J. (2017). LOTO standard exceptions can save time - if followed correctly. Industrial Safety & Hygiene News, 51(11), 1, 22.

Required video

Required materials

Prevention Videos: Construction Hazards
Occupational Safety and Health Administration. (n.d.). Prevention videos: Construction hazards. https://www.osha.gov/dts/vtools/construction.html
Note: You have watched two OSHA videos about electrocutions in construction. Now, view the rest of OSHA's v-Tools Prevention Videos.

Background information

Safety in Fashion
Zind, T. (2018). Safety in fashion: Wearable technology comes into vogue as sensors, monitors, and alerts emerge as tools to improve worker safety. EC&M Electrical Construction & Maintenance, 117(5), 18–22.
The Evolution of Electrical Safety and NFPA70E
Vigstol, D. (2018). The evolution of electrical safety and NFPA70E. EC&M Electrical Construction & Maintenance, 117(5), 24–28.

Technology Research Databases

Click on a database name to search:

Science & Technology Databases (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Searches 15 science and technology databases simultaneously: Advanced Technologies & Aerospace, Agriculture Science, Biological Science, Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database: Science & Technology, Career & Technical Education Database: Science & Technology, Computer Science, Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science, Engineering, Environmental Science, India Database: Science & Technology, Materials Science, Military, Research Library: Science & Technology, Science, and Telecommunications.
- This link opens in a new window
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers nearly 300 full-text periodicals and academic journals.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new window Full access to over 207,000 resources related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management from a wide variety of sources including federal, state and local governments; international governments and institutions; and nonprofit organizations and private entities.
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect Health & Life Sciences and Physical Sciences Collections This link opens in a new window Access to over 1,550 full text journals in health & life sciences, chemistry, computer science, physics, mathematics, and earth & planetary sciences. On the results page, green icons mean the full text is available (white means abstract only). Please note: Articles are available from 1995 to present only.
- This link opens in a new window

DOE PAGES: Public Access Gateway for Energy & Science Access journal articles and accepted manuscripts resulting from DOE research funding.
- This link opens in a new window
EverySpec: Department of Energy Handbooks Free downloadable government and military standards, specifications, handbooks, and documents.
OurEnergyLibrary Publicly available fact sheets, journal articles, reports, studies, and other publications on U.S. energy topics. Updated weekly to include the most recent energy resources from academia, government, industry, non-profits, think tanks, and trade associations.

eBooks on subjects in business and technology:

Skillsoft This link opens in a new window Note: This database has scheduled downtime every Sunday from 1-3 pm ET. Please plan ahead. The full STEM Bundle includes access to: Business, Engineering, & IT eBooks, IT & Desktop 3-5 minute videos, book summaries of popular books on leadership and business, and the Leadership Channel, which contains videos and live events.
- This link opens in a new window

Multidisciplinary eBook databases:

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary eBooks representing a broad range of subjects.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window eBooks on a range of subjects such as business, information technology, education, engineering, health, history, humanities, life & physical sciences, and social and behavioral sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Learn more about finding and downloading eBooks:

Click on a database name to search:

Department of Energy on YouTube The mission of the DOE is to ensure America's security and prosperity by addressing its energy, environmental, and nuclear challenges through transformative science and technology solutions.

Skillsoft This link opens in a new window Note: This database has scheduled downtime every Sunday from 1-3 pm ET. Please plan ahead. The full STEM Bundle includes access to: Business, Engineering, & IT eBooks, IT & Desktop 3-5 minute videos, book summaries of popular books on leadership and business, and the Leadership Channel, which contains videos and live events.
- This link opens in a new window

Films On Demand (Technology & Society) The Technology & Society collection of the Films On Demand database includes over 900 full-length streaming videos in the field of technology.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Alexander Street: Academic Video Online‎ This link opens in a new window A large multidisciplinary collection of streaming videos. Includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage, award-winning films, including Academy® and Emmy® winners, newly released films, and archival material previously unavailable.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ImageQuest (Britannica) This link opens in a new window Nearly 3 million rights-cleared images from more than 50 collections including Getty Images, the National Portrait Gallery of London, and the National Geographic Society.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Specialized reference eBooks for background information on all subjects, including audio, video, and image results.
- This link opens in a new window

Click on a database name to search:

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Specialized reference eBooks for background information on all subjects, including audio, video, and image results.
- This link opens in a new window
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window The largest, most authoritative encyclopedia in the world, this database contains articles, maps, images, videos, and yearbooks from 1993 to present. Use it instead of Wikipedia for your research!
- This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window More than 50 reference eBooks in business, communications, history, law, literature, medicine, nation & world, science, and technology.
- This link opens in a new window

Search Tools

OneSearch

Find articles, eBooks, etc.

Note: This tool searches cover titles only, it does not search for article titles or within the text.

Using Google Scholar: Finding Peer Reviewed Resources (Transcript)

Library

TECH180: Personal Protection Equipment (PPE) for Electrical Work

How to use this guide

Featured eBooks

Assignment Tips

Required materials

Background information

Required materials

Background information

Required materials

Background information

Background information

Background information

Background information

Required video

Required materials

Background information

Technology Research Databases

eBooks on subjects in business and technology:

Multidisciplinary eBook databases:

Learn more about finding and downloading eBooks:

Search Tools

Note: This tool searches cover titles only, it does not search for article titles or within the text.