Library: HSC310: Writing & Communication in the Health Science Professions: Professional Associations

General

American Medical Association (AMA) The major professional organization for physicians and healthcare providers in the U.S. Its vision is to enhance the delivery of care and enable physicians and health teams to partner with patients to achieve better health.
American Psychological Association (APA) “A scientific and professional organization that represents psychology in the United States. With more than 154,000 members, APA is the largest association of psychologists worldwide.” Website includes links to psychology topics, publications, news, careers and more. Offers student affiliate memberships.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) The CDC is one of the major components of the Department of Health and Human Services. Their mission is to keep Americans safe and healthy through research, advocacy and publications.
National Association for Healthcare Quality (NAHQ) The major organization concerned with patient safety, quality and regulations of care delivery, performance improvement, health data analytics and much more.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration The agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation. SAMHSA's mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities.
Joint Commission The Joint Commission is an independent, not-for-profit organization that accredits and certifies nearly 21,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States.

Behavioral Health

American Counseling Association The American Counseling Association is a not-for-profit, professional and educational organization that is dedicated to the growth and enhancement of the counseling profession.
American Psychological Association (APA) “A scientific and professional organization that represents psychology in the United States. With more than 154,000 members, APA is the largest association of psychologists worldwide.” Website includes links to psychology topics, publications, news, careers and more. Offers student affiliate memberships.
National Association of Social Workers Founded in 1955, the National Association of Social Workers (NASW) is the largest membership organization of professional social workers in the world, with more than 120,000 members. NASW works to enhance the professional growth and development of its members, to create and maintain professional standards, and to advance sound social policies.
National Council for Behavioral Health The National Council for Behavioral Health is the unifying voice of America’s health care organizations that deliver mental health and addictions treatment and services. Together with our 2,900 member organizations serving over 10 million adults, children and families living with mental illnesses and addictions, the National Council is committed to all Americans having access to comprehensive, high-quality care that affords every opportunity for recovery.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration The agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation. SAMHSA's mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities.
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD The mission of the National Center for PTSD is to advance the clinical care and social welfare of America's Veterans and others who have experienced trauma, or who suffer from PTSD, through research, education, and training in the science, diagnosis, and treatment of PTSD and stress-related disorders. Website provides access to publications and much more.

CAM (Complementary & Alternative Medicine)

National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) The National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) is the Federal Government’s lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine. NCCIH was formerly known as the National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine.

Diversity

Culture Care Connection Culture Care Connection is an online learning and resource center, developed by Stratis Health, aimed at supporting health care providers, staff, and administrators in their ongoing efforts to provide culturally-competent care in Minnesota.
Dimensions of Culture CCHAP is a non-profit with the goal of providing a medical home for every child in Colorado, thereby reducing health disparities in underserved populations. Site includes newsletters, an active blog on cross-cultural topics in health care, up-to-date resources and much more!
National Center for Cultural Competence The Georgetown University National Center for Cultural Competence (NCCC) provides national leadership and contributes to the body of knowledge on cultural and linguistic competency within systems and organizations. NCCC provides training, technical assistance, and consultation, contributes to knowledge through publications and research, creates tools and resources to support health and mental health care providers and systems, supports leaders to promote and sustain cultural and linguistic competency, and collaborates with an extensive network of private and public entities to advance the implementation of these concepts.
The Society Pages (TSP) Provides current articles, multimedia, classroom activities and more on multidisciplinary social science topics.

Gerontology and End of Life

Aging Life Care Association (ALCA) (formerly National Association of Professional Geriatric Care Managers (NAPGCM) ALCA is "leading the community of Aging Life Care Professionals™ through education, professional development, and the highest ethical standards."
American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine (AAHPM) AAHPM is the professional organization for physicians specializing in hospice and palliative medicine, nurses, and other healthcare providers. Their activities focus on education and training, resources, networking, and advocacy.
Canadian Hospice Palliative Care Association (CHPCA) "The CHPCA is the national voice for Hospice Palliative Care in Canada. Advancing and advocating for quality end-of-life/hospice palliative care in Canada, its work includes public policy, public education and awareness."
Center to Advance Palliative Care (CAPC) "The Center to Advance Palliative Care (CAPC) provides the essential tools, training, technical assistance, and metrics to build and sustain palliative care in all health care settings."
European Association for Palliative Care (EAPC) "The EAPC provides a forum for all of those either working, or with an interest in palliative care throughout Europe and beyond. Currently the EAPC has 55 member associations from 31 European countries and also has individual members from 52 countries globally. Members are engaged in palliative care across the lifespan from a range of perspectives: specialist and generalist clinical practice, professional groups, education, policy and research."
European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC) Research organization that "has helped make significant progress in the treatment and management of cancer, evaluating new molecules, refining existing treatment regimens, identifying biomarkers and assessing patients’ quality of life."
Gerontological Society of America (GSA) "GSA is the oldest and largest interdisciplinary organization devoted to research, education, and practice in the field of aging. GSA’s principal mission — and that of our 5,500 members — is to promote the study of aging and disseminate information to scientists, decision makers, and the general public."
Hospice and Palliative Nurses Association (HPNA) HPNA is a professional membership organization dedicated to nurses committed to advance expert care in serious illness. Provides education, advocacy, certification and much more.
National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization (NHPCO) NHPCO website offers resources and materials for regulatory, educational, advocacy and quality to its members and beyond.

Health Education

National Commission for Health Education Credentialing (NCHEC) "The mission of NCHEC is to enhance the professional practice of Health Education by promoting and sustaining a credentialed body of Health Education Specialists. To meet this mission, NCHEC certifies health education specialists, promotes professional development, and strengthens professional preparation and practice."
Society for Public Health Education (SOPHE) "A nonprofit, independent professional association that represents a diverse membership of nearly 4,000 health education professionals and students in the United States and 25 international countries."

Informatics

American Health Information Management Association (AHiMA) "AHIMA is the premier association of health information management (HIM) professionals worldwide. Serving 52 affiliated component state associations and more than 103,000 health information professionals, it is recognized as the leading source of "HIM knowledge," a respected authority for rigorous professional education and training."
American Medical Informatics Association (AMIA) "AMIA aims to lead the way in transforming health care through trusted science, education, and the practice of informatics. AMIA connects a broad community of professionals and students interested in informatics. AMIA is the bridge for knowledge and collaboration across a continuum, from basic and applied research to the consumer and public health arenas."
American Nursing Informatics Association (ANIA) Provides publications, educational opportunities and more for professional nurses and associates specializing and interested in informatics to improve the health of populations, communities, families and individuals by optimizing information management and communication.
American Telemedicine Association (ATA) "ATA is a non-profit association based in Washington DC with a membership network of more than 10,000 industry leaders and healthcare professionals."
Health Level Seven International (HL7) "Founded in 1987, Health Level Seven International (HL7) is a not-for-profit, ANSI-accredited standards developing organization dedicated to providing a comprehensive framework and related standards for the exchange, integration, sharing, and retrieval of electronic health information that supports clinical practice and the management, delivery and evaluation of health services."
Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society (HIMSS) "HIMSS is a global, cause-based, not-for-profit organization focused on better health through information and technology. HIMSS leads efforts to optimize health engagements and care outcomes using information technology."
National Institutes of Health Informatics (NiHi) "NIHI is a Canada-wide institute bringing together experts in Health Informatics (HI)."

Management

American Association of Healthcare Administrative Management (AAHAM) "The American Association of Healthcare Administrative Management (AAHAM) is the premier professional organization in healthcare administrative management. Your one-stop resource center for information, education and advocacy in the areas of reimbursement, admitting and registration, data management, medical records, patient relations and so much more."
American College of Healthcare Executives (ACHE) Membership organization providing resources, career and job information, research and much more to healthcare leaders.
American Health Care Association (AHCA) "The American Health Care Association is a non-profit federation of affiliate state health organizations, together representing more than 13,500 non-profit and for-profit nursing facility, assisted living, developmentally-disabled, and subacute care providers that care for approximately one million elderly and disabled individuals each day."
American Health Information Management Association (AHiMA) "AHIMA is the premier association of health information management (HIM) professionals worldwide. Serving 52 affiliated component state associations and more than 103,000 health information professionals, it is recognized as the leading source of "HIM knowledge," a respected authority for rigorous professional education and training."
Healthcare Financial Management Association (HFMA) "HFMA is the nation's premier membership organization for healthcare finance leaders." Includes publications, membership info, conferences and more.
Medical Group Management Association MGMA provides "exceptional peer-to-peer and mentor-to-peer support systems as well as abundant hard-copy and digital resources" for their members.
National Association of Healthcare Access Management (NAHAM) "We establish best practices and subject matter expertise; provide an array of networking, education, and certification opportunities; and enable our members to influence and promote high quality delivery of Patient Access Services."
National Institute for Health Care Management (NIHCM) The NIHCM supports research and journalism through grants, and educates policy makers and the public through webinars, issue briefs, charts/data, and more.

Professional Associations

National League for Nursing (NLN) The NLN is the premier organization for nurse faculty and leaders in nursing education, offering professional development, networking opportunities, assessment services, nursing research grants, and public policy initiatives to its members.
American Nurses Association (ANA) The American Nurses Association "is the premier organization representing the interests of the nation's 4 million registered nurses. ANA advances the nursing profession by fostering high standards of nursing practice, promoting a safe and ethical work environment, bolstering the health and wellness of nurses, and advocating on health care issues that affect nurses and the public. ANA is at the forefront of improving the quality of health care for all."
American Hospital Association (AHA)
Alliance for Nursing Informatics (ANI)
American Nursing Informatics Association (ANIA) Provides publications, educational opportunities and more for professional nurses and associates specializing and interested in informatics to improve the health of populations, communities, families and individuals by optimizing information management and communication.

Public Health

American Public Health Association (APHA) "APHA champions the health of all people and all communities. We strengthen the public health profession. We speak out for public health issues and policies backed by science. We are the only organization that influences federal policy, has a nearly 150-year perspective and brings together members from all fields of public health."
Association for Prevention Teaching and Research (APTR) APTR is the national membership association for medical and health professions institutions and their faculty advancing prevention and population health education and research."
National Public Health Information Coalition (NPHIC) "The NPHIC is the premier network of public health communicators in the United States and U.S. territories. We are committed to "making public health public" by sharing our knowledge, expertise and resources to effectively communicate about the important health issues of the day -- helping people lead healthier lives in healthier communities."
Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce "A collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations and health sciences libraries." Topic pages and news feed on key public health issues.
Public Health Foundation (PHF) "Since 1970, PHF has developed effective resources, tools, information, and training for health agencies, organizations, and individuals to help improve performance and community health outcomes."
Public Health Institute (PHI) "PHI is dedicated to improving health and wellness by discovering new research, strengthening key partnerships and programs, and advancing sound health policies."
Public Health Live "Public Health Live! (PHL) is a monthly webcast providing FREE continuing education credits on current public health issues. Webcasts are available to public health and health care professionals interested in furthering their knowledge of public health."
Rural Health Information Hub (RHI) "Provides access to current and reliable resources and tools to help you learn about rural health needs and work to address them."
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration The agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation. SAMHSA's mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities.

Quality

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) AHRQ "is the lead Federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of America's health care system. AHRQ develops the knowledge, tools, and data needed to improve the health care system and help Americans, health care professionals, and policymakers make informed health decisions."
Health & Medicine Division Formerly the Institute of Medicine (IOM), this division of the National Academies of Science, Engineering & Medicine conducts research studies that informs decision makers in government and the private sector.
Institute for Healthcare Improvement IHI, an independent not-for-profit organization, is a leading innovator, convener, partner, and driver of results in health and health care improvement worldwide.
Leapfrog Group Their mission: "To trigger giant leaps forward in the safety, quality and affordability of U.S. health care by using transparency to support informed health care decisions and promote high-value care."
National Association for Healthcare Quality (NAHQ) The major organization concerned with patient safety, quality and regulations of care delivery, performance improvement, health data analytics and much more.
National Patient Safety Foundation (NPSF) and Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI) The Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI) and the National Patient Safety Foundation (NPSF) began working together as one organization in May 2017. The newly formed entity is committed to using its combined knowledge and resources to focus and energize the patient safety agenda in order to build systems of safety across the continuum of care.
National Quality Forum "NQF measures and standards serve as a critically important foundation for initiatives to enhance healthcare value, make patient care safer, and achieve better outcomes."

Wellness

American Nutrition Association "The American Nutrition Association® is a 501(c)3 non-profit on a mission to promote optimal health through nutrition education. We host world-renowned nutrition expert programs and are a community where professionals, individuals and organizations interact."
American Society for Nutrition A membership organization that fosters and enhances research in animal and human nutrition through its publications, conferences, standards & ethics and education & training.
National Wellness Institute (NWI) The NWI provides quality continuing educational, resources, opportunities for life-long learning, innovative professional development programs, lifestyle assessments and serves professionals and organizations that promote health and wellness.
Wellness Council of America (WELCOA) Helps businesses and health professionals improve employee health and well-being and create healthier organizations. Site includes a blog, podcast, and job board.