Library: Biology: Biodiversity

Biodiversity/Ecology Research Databases

Click on a database name to search:

Biological Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window "Provides access to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science."
- This link opens in a new window
Agriculture Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window "This database contains the leading agricultural journals published in North America. ProQuest Agriculture Journals offers the complete text as well as complete images from such journals as Agricultural Research, Forest Products Journal, Journal of Animal Science, Journal of Soil and Water Conservation and Plant Physiology."
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window The world's largest academic, multi-disciplinary database with full text journals, newspapers, magazines, reports, eBooks and videos. Meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect Health & Life Sciences and Physical Sciences Collections This link opens in a new window Access to over 1,550 full text journals in health & life sciences, chemistry, computer science, physics, mathematics, and earth & planetary sciences. On the results page, green icons mean the full text is available (white means abstract only). Please note: Articles are available from 1995 to present only.
- This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Specialized reference eBooks for background information on all subjects, including audio, video, and image results.
- This link opens in a new window
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly (peer reviewed) journals, covering all subjects and many languages.
- This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window Provides full text access to scholarly articles, government reports and popular publications focusing on the relationships between human beings and the environment. Some topics include global warming, sustainability, recycling, green building, and alternative fuel sources.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Multidisciplinary eBook databases:

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary eBooks representing a broad range of subjects.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window eBooks on a range of subjects such as business, information technology, education, engineering, health, history, humanities, life & physical sciences, and social and behavioral sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Learn more about finding and downloading eBooks:

Click on a database name to search:

Films On Demand (Biology) Videos in the humanities, social sciences, business, health, medicine, sciences, and mathematics fields. This link goes to the Biology subset.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Khan Academy (Biology) Free biology videos, practice exercises and assessments!

Alexander Street: Academic Video Online‎ This link opens in a new window A large multidisciplinary collection of streaming videos. Includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage, award-winning films, including Academy® and Emmy® winners, newly released films, and archival material previously unavailable.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ImageQuest (Britannica) This link opens in a new window Nearly 3 million rights-cleared images from more than 50 collections including Getty Images, the National Portrait Gallery of London, and the National Geographic Society.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Specialized reference eBooks for background information on all subjects, including audio, video, and image results.
- This link opens in a new window

Click on a database name to search:

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Specialized reference eBooks for background information on all subjects, including audio, video, and image results.
- This link opens in a new window
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window The largest, most authoritative encyclopedia in the world, this database contains articles, maps, images, videos, and yearbooks from 1993 to present. Use it instead of Wikipedia for your research!
- This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window More than 50 reference eBooks in business, communications, history, law, literature, medicine, nation & world, science, and technology.
- This link opens in a new window

Search Tools

OneSearch

Find articles, eBooks, etc.

Note: This tool searches cover titles only, it does not search for article titles or within the text.

Using Google Scholar: Finding Peer Reviewed Resources (Transcript)

Selected Resources

What is Biodiversity?

Animal Diversity Web “Online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology.” Contains thousands of species accounts with images, text, movies, and/or sound recordings.
Biodiversity Heritage Library "A consortium of 12 major natural history museum libraries, botanical libraries, and research institutions organized to digitize, serve, and preserve the legacy literature of biodiversity." Contains the full text of digitized books and journals as well as the ability to perform a search for a taxonomic name.
Global Biodiversity Information Facility Species observations for the United States and Territories
Encyclopedia of Life An online reference with pages on all 1.9 million currently known species, which will be updated as new species are discovered.
Smithsonian Ocean Portal Interactive website with images, articles, videos, data, lesson plans, timelines, slideshows, and much more!
Tree of Life "A collection of information about biodiversity compiled collaboratively by hundreds of expert and amateur contributors. Its goal is to contain a page with pictures, text, and other information for every species and for each group of organisms, living or extinct."
USDA PLANTS Database "Provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories."