A scholarly journal is published each month, like a magazine. Each issue contains research articles by subject experts. The articles are peer-reviewed (formally vetted by other experts).

Search in a library database. The library offers many databases. Use OneSearch to search most databases at once. Or, search them individually. Some, like CINAHL, are specific to nursing.

A few scholarly journals are free on the web. Use Google Scholar or PubMed Central to find them.

A professional organization is a group of and for professionals in a field. These groups offer standards, guidelines, training, certifications, career guidance and more. Condition-related organizations like the American Diabetes Association may have similar services for professionals.

Search the web, or visit the Professional & Career page of this guide.

Some organizations have books in the library, such as Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice by the American Nurses' Association.

Government websites like CDC are important sources for practice guidelines. You may also find practice guidelines in scholarly journals.

Search the web. Consider federal, state, local, tribal, and foreign governments, and international governmental organizations (IGOs) like the World Health Organization.

Also try professional organizations or condition-related organizations.

A handbook is a book that provides quick, practical facts or instructions.

Search in OneSearch and choose eBooks.

A trade magazine features news articles by and for people working in a field. Trade magazines are not peer reviewed.

Search in a library database. The library offers many databases. Use OneSearch to search most databases at once. Or, search them individually.

Some trade magazines are free from professional organizations' websites.