Library: HSC375: Health and Wellness: Finding Resources

Health Sciences Research Databases

Click on a database name to search:

Health Sciences Databases (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Searches 10 health sciences databases simultaneously: Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database: Health & Medicine, Career & Technical Education Database: Health & Medicine, Consumer Health Database, Health & Medical Collection, Health Administration Database, India Database: Health & Medicine, Nursing & Allied Health Database, Psychology Database, Public Health Database, and Research Library: Health & Medicine.
- This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window Provides access to nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines as well as the Lexi-PALS Drug Guide.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Comprehensive coverage of all areas of nursing and allied health with access to more than 770 journals and 275 ebooks.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect Health & Life Sciences and Physical Sciences Collections This link opens in a new window Access to over 1,550 full text journals in health & life sciences, chemistry, computer science, physics, mathematics, and earth & planetary sciences. On the results page, green icons mean the full text is available (white means abstract only). Please note: Articles are available from 1995 to present only.
- This link opens in a new window
JAMA: Journal of the American Medical Assoc. This link opens in a new window Full text available from 1998-present. An international, peer-reviewed, general medical journal that contains groundbreaking research and insightful commentary from leaders across the broad spectrum of health care.
- This link opens in a new window
Ovid: Full Text Nursing & Allied Health Journals and eBooks This link opens in a new window Search across a targeted collection of full text journals and eBooks selected by Excelsior faculty that cover the nursing and allied health fields. You can also use the OVID Emcare database to browse citations of articles.
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature and primary research reports from the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
- This link opens in a new window

Multidisciplinary eBook databases:

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary eBooks representing a broad range of subjects.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window eBooks on a range of subjects such as business, information technology, education, engineering, health, history, humanities, life & physical sciences, and social and behavioral sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Learn more about finding and downloading eBooks:

Click on a database name to search:

Films on Demand (Health & Medicine) The Health & Medicine collection of the Films On Demand database includes over 2,100 full-length streaming videos in the fields of health sciences and medicine
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Alexander Street Press (Health Sciences) The Health & Medicine collection of the Alexander Street Press database includes over 2,500 full-length streaming videos in the fields of health sciences and medicine.
- This link opens in a new window
Khan Academy (Health & Medicine) Videos on health and medicine topics

ImageQuest (Britannica) This link opens in a new window Nearly 3 million rights-cleared images from more than 50 collections including Getty Images, the National Portrait Gallery of London, and the National Geographic Society.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Specialized reference eBooks for background information on all subjects, including audio, video, and image results.
- This link opens in a new window

Click on a database name to search:

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Specialized reference eBooks for background information on all subjects, including audio, video, and image results.
- This link opens in a new window
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window The largest, most authoritative encyclopedia in the world, this database contains articles, maps, images, videos, and yearbooks from 1993 to present. Use it instead of Wikipedia for your research!
- This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window More than 50 reference eBooks in business, communications, history, law, literature, medicine, nation & world, science, and technology.
- This link opens in a new window