Library: PBH323: Principles of Public Health: Health Issues

Selected Resources

American Journal of Public Health A peer reviewed journal about current issues in both domestic and international public health, including policy, practice, education, etc.
Accident Analysis & Prevention A peer reviewed journal covering the general areas relating to accidental injury and damage, including the pre-injury and immediate post-injury phases.
Economics & Human Biology A peer reviewed journal exploring the effects of socio-economic processes on human beings as biological organisms, not bound by temporal or geographic limitations.
Health & Place A peer reviewed journal dedicated to the study of all aspects of health and health care in which place or location matters.
International Journal of Health Geographics A peer reviewed journal about all aspects of geospatial information systems and science applications in health and healthcare.
Journal of Adolescent Health A peer reviewed journal about all aspects of adolescent medicine and health ranging from the basic biological and behavioral sciences to public health and policy.
Journal of Occupational Health Psychology A peer reviewed journal about the application of psychology to improving the quality of work life and to protecting and promoting the safety, health and well-being of workers.
Social Science & Medicine A peer reviewed journal about health issues, informing current research, policy and practice in all areas of common interest to social scientists, health practitioners, and policy makers.

American Public Health Association (APHA) "APHA champions the health of all people and all communities. We strengthen the public health profession. We speak out for public health issues and policies backed by science. We are the only organization that influences federal policy, has a nearly 150-year perspective and brings together members from all fields of public health."
Association for Prevention Teaching and Research (APTR) APTR is the national membership association for medical and health professions institutions and their faculty advancing prevention and population health education and research."
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) "CDC conducts critical science and provides health information that protects our nation against expensive and dangerous health threats, and responds when these arise."
National Public Health Information Coalition (NPHIC) "The NPHIC is the premier network of public health communicators in the United States and U.S. territories. We are committed to "making public health public" by sharing our knowledge, expertise and resources to effectively communicate about the important health issues of the day -- helping people lead healthier lives in healthier communities."
Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce "A collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations and health sciences libraries." Topic pages and news feed on key public health issues.
Public Health Foundation (PHF) "Since 1970, PHF has developed effective resources, tools, information, and training for health agencies, organizations, and individuals to help improve performance and community health outcomes."
Public Health Institute (PHI) "PHI is dedicated to improving health and wellness by discovering new research, strengthening key partnerships and programs, and advancing sound health policies."
Public Health Live "Public Health Live! (PHL) is a monthly webcast providing FREE continuing education credits on current public health issues. Webcasts are available to public health and health care professionals interested in furthering their knowledge of public health."
Rural Health Information Hub (RHI) "Provides access to current and reliable resources and tools to help you learn about rural health needs and work to address them."

Public Health Research Databases

Click on a database name to search:

Public Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window With journals, news, trade publications, reports and more, ProQuest Public Health covers a wide variety of disciplines ranging from social sciences and biological sciences to business. Designed to be the ideal starting point for public health information and research.
- This link opens in a new window
Health Sciences Databases (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Searches 10 health sciences databases simultaneously: Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database: Health & Medicine, Career & Technical Education Database: Health & Medicine, Consumer Health Database, Health & Medical Collection, Health Administration Database, India Database: Health & Medicine, Nursing & Allied Health Database, Psychology Database, Public Health Database, and Research Library: Health & Medicine.
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Comprehensive coverage of all areas of nursing and allied health with access to more than 770 journals and 275 ebooks.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window Includes 184 titles from the SAGE Health Sciences collection.
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect Health & Life Sciences and Physical Sciences Collections This link opens in a new window Access to over 1,550 full text journals in health & life sciences, chemistry, computer science, physics, mathematics, and earth & planetary sciences. On the results page, green icons mean the full text is available (white means abstract only). Please note: Articles are available from 1995 to present only.
- This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window Comprehensive coverage of sociology, its scope includes subjects such as abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, religion, rural & urban sociology, social psychology, and social work, to name a few. Contains full text for more than 890 journals, 850 books, and over 16,800 conference papers.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature and primary research reports from the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
- This link opens in a new window
JAMA: Journal of the American Medical Assoc. This link opens in a new window Full text available from 1998-present. An international, peer-reviewed, general medical journal that contains groundbreaking research and insightful commentary from leaders across the broad spectrum of health care.
- This link opens in a new window

Multidisciplinary eBook databases:

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary eBooks representing a broad range of subjects.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window eBooks on a range of subjects such as business, information technology, education, engineering, health, history, humanities, life & physical sciences, and social and behavioral sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Learn more about finding and downloading eBooks:

Click on a database name to search:

Films On Demand (Health & Medicine) The Health & Medicine collection of the Films On Demand database includes over 5,000 full-length streaming videos in the fields of health sciences and medicine.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Alexander Street Videos (Health & Society) Defines and explores today’s latest medical progress in health and wellness issues and their impact on society via documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews.
- This link opens in a new window
Khan Academy (Health & Medicine) Videos on health and medicine topics

ImageQuest (Britannica) This link opens in a new window Nearly 3 million rights-cleared images from more than 50 collections including Getty Images, the National Portrait Gallery of London, and the National Geographic Society.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Specialized reference eBooks for background information on all subjects, including audio, video, and image results.
- This link opens in a new window

Click on a database name to search:

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Specialized reference eBooks for background information on all subjects, including audio, video, and image results.
- This link opens in a new window
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window The largest, most authoritative encyclopedia in the world, this database contains articles, maps, images, videos, and yearbooks from 1993 to present. Use it instead of Wikipedia for your research!
- This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window More than 50 reference eBooks in business, communications, history, law, literature, medicine, nation & world, science, and technology.
- This link opens in a new window

Search Tools

OneSearch

Find articles, eBooks, etc.

Note: This tool searches cover titles only, it does not search for article titles or within the text.

Using Google Scholar: Finding Peer Reviewed Resources (Transcript)